In January of 1986, SAYRA established an award to honor individuals who over the years make significant and outstanding contributions in service to the South Atlantic Yacht Racing Association. This award was named for and dedicated to Dr. H. Willard Davis, who for many years was Executive Secretary and Treasurer of SAYRA, representing SAYRA on the YRA Council of the United States Yacht Racing Union, was the Regional Administrative Judge for US SAILING, and is an International Judge Emeritus for US SAILING. He set a shining example of service for all who knew him and followed in his footsteps. Willard Davis brought honor to SAYRA through his judging major regattas throughout the United States; and he has earned the respect and admiration of his peers in the international judging community for his superior knowledge of the racing rules and his calm, compassionate demeanor as he performed his duty as he saw fit. 

This award is a fitting tribute to Willard Davis and serves as appropriate recognition and thanks from SAYRA to those individuals who over the years give of themselves in service to the South Atlantic Yacht Racing Association and their fellow yachtsman. 

The committee to select the award winner consists of the last five recipients of the award and the commodore and the immediate past two commodores. The chair of the selection committee is the next to the last recipient. The award does not have to be given every year. When the award is given, it will be presented at the Annual General Meeting of SAYRA. 


Recipients of the H. WILLARD DAVIS SERVICE AWARD are: 

1986 H. Willard Davis 

1987 Staton J. Peele, Jr. 

1988 John A. S. (Jack) Brown 

1989 Dr. Hallam Walker 

1990 William J. F. Doscher 

1991 Donald J. Sweet 

1992 Arthur E. Menke and Ruth Creighton 

1993 Mason R. Chrisman 

1994 Ann Boyd Farmelo 

1995 John W. "Bud" Sweet 

1996 Joseph M. James 

1997 John Baker 

1998 Harry Jones 

1999 John H. Lee, Jr.

2000 Robert K. Creighton, Jr. 

2001 Russ Burleson 

2002 William B. Ross 

2003 Arland Whitesides 

2004 Carla Lewis Moore 

2005 Sarah Ashton 

2006 Bob Bowden 

2007 Dick McGillivray 

2008 Linda Bowden 

2009 John Slater 

2010 JC Moore 

2011 Carrie Rohde 

2012 Hank Goodman 

2013 Ryan Hamm 

2014 Burton and Judy Howell 

2015 Martine Zurinskas 

2016 Robert and Jane Key

                                                                    2017 Treez Decker 






The SAYRA Sportsmanship Award is presented from time to time to a SAYRA sailor or sailors who exemplifies the traditional Corinthian values of fair play and concern for fellow competitors. Winners will be nominated for US Sailing’s W.Van Allen Clark, Jr. Sportsmanship trophy. Member clubs of SAYRA may nominate sailors for this award by addressing a letter to the Commodore of SAYRA recommending the award, with full descriptive justification. The award is intended to recognize specific, salient incidents of sportsmanship on the water, but may also be recommended for a lifetime’s contribution to sportsmanship as an ideal. Awards should be received by the Commodore before October 15 of each year. The SAYRA Executive Committee will make the award at the SAYRA Annual General Meeting, and will forward their nomination of the winner to US SAILING to be considered for the Van Allen Clark trophy. 


Recipients of the SAYRA SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD are: 

1990 Martine Rawlings - Columbia Sailing Club 

1991 Richard Schultz - Lake Townsend Yacht Club 

1992 Paul Eckenroth - Outrigger Yacht Club 

1993 Curtiss and Minna Torrance - Lake Norman Yacht Club 

1994 A. Mills Kinghorn - Beaufort Yacht & Sailing Club 

1995 Keith Chiswell - Western Carolina Sailing Club 

1996 Randy Hord - Lake Norman Yacht Club 

1997 Don and Marilyn Corey - Outrigger Yacht Club 

1998 Leslie Martin - Western Carolina Sailing Club 

1999 William B. Ross - Lake Norman Yacht Club 

2000 Keith Rawlings 

2001 Joe Waters - Columbia Sailing Club 

2002 Jeff Annis - Augusta Sailing Club 

2003 Jeff Umberger - Lake Lanier Sailing Club 

2004 Not Awarded 

2005 Benton Whitesides 

2006 Not Awarded 

2007 JD Reddaway - Lake Lanier Sailing Club 

2008 Chip and Arland Whitesides - Carolina Yacht Club, NC 

2009 Not Awarded 

2010 Palmer McArthur 

2011 Not Awarded 

2012 Not Awarded 

2013 Michael Reddaway 

2014 Not Awarded 

2015 Not Awarded 

2016 Not Awarded




In January of 2012, SAYRA and Hobcaw Yacht Club established an award to honor individuals who over the years make significant and outstanding contributions in service to the sport of sailing in the areas of race management and/or judging and/or boating safety. This award was named for and dedicated to John B. Bonds, Captain USN (Retired), Ph.D, who for many years was Executive Director of US Sailing and Chairman of the Safety at Sea committee at USS. John was an International Race Officer and Senior Judge. He was most noted as an instructor of race management to many others and was the instructor of many “Safety at Sea” seminars around the US. He was the mentor to many who are working today in support of the sport so that the level of race management produces quality racing for the competitors. 

The selection of the recipient of this award is made by the Bonds family, a representative from HYC, past recipients and the SAYRA chairs of the race management and judges committees. This award may not be awarded every year and SAYRA clubs can send nominations to the selection committee 

This award is a fitting tribute to John Bonds and serves as appropriate recognition and thanks from SAYRA to those individuals who over the years give of themselves in service to the sport of yacht racing and their fellow yachtsman. 


Recipients of the JOHN B. BONDS SERVICE AWARD are: 

2012 Grady Foster - Savannah Yacht Club 

2013 Judy and Burton Howell - SAYRA 

2014 Paul Rhinehart - Carolina Yacht Club – NC 

2015 Means Davis – Atlanta Yacht Club 

2016 Frank Pontious – Beaufort Yacht and Sailing Club

                                           2017 Linda and Bob Bowden  - Carolina Yacht Club-SC